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ATAQUE ATORRE

EASTERNERS

Rules

PLACE TWO PILES OF CARDS, ONE FOR ABILITIES AND OTHER FOR
BASES, ON THE DESIGNATED SLOTS ON THE BOARD

PLAYERS DRAW 5 CARDS FROM ANY OR BOTH PILES, AND MAY
PLACE THEIR BASES ON THE BOARD IF THEY ARE NOT
SATISFIED WITH THEIR CARDS, THEY MAY DISCARD THEM ALL
AND DRAW 5 MORE.

THEN THEY START PLAYING, ALTERNATING TURNS;

A PLAYER'S TURN

IN HIS TURN, HE MUST DECIDE WHETHER TO
o RENEW THE GAME OR NOT

RENEWING THE GAME MEANS BOTH PLAYERS MUST
EXECUTE THE RENEWAL SEQUENCE BELOW.

RENEWAL SEQUENCE

RECRUIT TROOPS. THIS MEANS YOU MUST PLACE A
COUNTER MARKING "I" ON EACH BASE THAT HAS NO
COUNTERS, AND ARJUST IT TO MARK "2" ON BASES
THAT ALREADY HAVE A COUNTER. NO BASE MAY EVER
HOLD MORE THAN 2 TROOPS, AND TROOPS CANNOT
EXIST WITHOUT BASES.

DRAW 2 CARDS (IF YOU EXCEED THE HAND LIMIT OF S
CARDS, DISCARD UNTIL YOU REACH THE LIMIT).

PLAY NEW BASES.

AFTER RENEWAL OR HAVING ANOUNCED NOT TO
o RENEW, THE PLAYER MAY DECLARE ATTACKS, AND
BOTH PLAYERS MAY PLAY ABILITIES.

WHEN HE'S FINISHED THE PLAYER MUST END HIS TURN. THE
OPPONENT MUST THEN FOLLOW THE SAME STEPS, UNTIL ONE
OF THEM DESTROYS THE OPPONENT'S CASTLE.

SINCE THERE IS A LUCK COMPONENT IN THE GAME, IT IS
CUSTOMARY TO ALLOW THE LOSER A REMATCH, SO THE
WINNER IS THE ONE TO WIN 2 OUT OF 3 MATCHES.

ICON REPRESENTING THE TROOP'S TYPE

‘ ABILITY » LIGHT INFANTRY

NAME OF BASE

NAME OF
RECRUITED TROOPS

ABILITY CARD

POWER OF
RECRUITED TROOPS

RECRUITED TROOP'S TRAIT /

There i3 no life wilhou! honor,
“Thete i3 no honor wilhou! viclow,

TO UNDERSTAND HOW COMBAT WORKS, NOTE THAT EACH
PLAYER'S FIELD IS DIVIDED INTO THREE TERRITORIES, EACH
ONE CONTAINING THREE BASES' SLOTS. BASES DICTATE WHICH
TYPE OF TROOP YOU HAVE WILL BE AVAILABLE. TROOPS IN
THE SAME TERRITORY SHALL BATTLE TOGETHER.

BATTLES

TO LAUNCH AN ATTACK, ONE MUST CHOOSE ONE OF HIS
TERRITORIES TO SEND HIS TROOPS FROM AND ONE OF HIS
OPPONENT'S AS TARGET. ONLY ONE TERRITORY FROM EACH
PLAYER MAY BE INVOLVED IN A BATTLE AND ALL TROOPS
ON THOSE TERRITORIES MUST FIGHT.

KEEP THESE 2 CONCEPTS N MIND:

- EVERY TROOFR BASE AND PALACE HAS A POWER LEVEL
INDICATING HOW MUCH DAMAGE IT INFLICTS AS WELL AS HOW
MUCH DAMAGE IT TAKES TO DESTROY IT. IF ITS POWER
DROPS BELOW 1, A TROOP IS KILLED AUTOMATICALLY WHEN
IN BATTLE (AS DO BASES, BUT ONLY IF THEY ARE
UNDEFENDED).

- THE POWER OF TROOPS IS INDICATED ON THE BASE THAT
RECRUITED THEM, BASES HAVE POWER 4 AND PALACES HAVE
POWER 10.

BATTLES ARE DIVIDED INTD TWO STAGES. ON THE FIRST, BOTH
PLAYERS MAY PLAY AS MANY ABILITIES AS THEY WISH. THE
DEFENDER MAY PLAY THE FIRST ONE.

THE SECOND IS THE COMBAT STAGE, WHEN DAMAGE IS
COMPUTED

PLAYERS MAY CHOOSE THE ORDER IN WHICH HIS TROOPS
DEAL DAMAGE AND TO WHICH TARGETS. WHEN A TARGET
RECEIVES DAMAGE EQUAL TO OR GREATER THAN HIS OWN
POWER, IT WILL BE DESTROYED BY THE END OF THE
BATTLE, BUT IT WILL STILL INFLICT DAMAGE EQUAL TO ITS
POWER.

WELL, EXCEPT FOR TROOPS WITH 'INITIATIVE'. TROOPS WITH
THIS TRAIT, (E.6. SHOOTERS) MUST DEAL THEIR DAMAGE
FIRST AND THEIR TARGETS ARE KILLED BEFORE THEY CAN
DEAL THEIR OWN DAMAGE (EXCEPT IF TARGETS ARE BASES
OR ARE OTHER TROOPS WITH 'INITIATIVE").

ANOTHER TRAIT AVAILABLE TO TROOPS IS ARTILLERY', WHICH
MEANS THEY CANNOT DEAL DAMAGE TO TROOPS, ONLY TO
BASES AND PALACES.

THE ATTACKER'S TROOPS ARE CONSIDERED 'IN COMBAT' AND
ALSO THE DEFENDER'S TROOPS AND BASES, MEANING THEY
CAUSE AND TAKE DAMAGE. BASES, THOUGH, CAN ONLY BE
DAMAGED IF THERE ARE NO MORE TROOPS ALIVE DEFENDING
THEIR TERRITORY

IF THE ATTACKING FORCES MANAGE TO WIPE OUT THE
ENEMY'S DEFENSES, THEIR SURVING TROOPS ARE FULLY
HEALED AND BEGIN A NEW BATTLE, NOW AGAINST THE
PALACE.

EXCEPT FOR THE RENEWEL STAGE, PLAYERS MAY PLAY
ABILITIES AT WILL. THERE ARE THREE DIFFERENT KINDS OF
ABILITIES, DESCRIBED BELOW.

TYPES OF ABILITIES

TROOP ABILITIES CARRY THE ICON OF A TROOP TYPE,
AND THEIR EFFECTS ARE TIED TO THAT TYPE.

COMMON ABILITIES CARRY A HAND ICON. THEY DON'T
RESTRICT THEMSELVES TO A TROOP TYPE, AND
BENEFIT THE WHOLE ARMY

TROOP AND COMMON ABILITIES STAY IN EFFECT
UNTIL THE END OF THE TURN, BEING THEN
DISCARDED

GAME ICONS

1 T4Ha-C

FROM LEFT TO RIGHT LIGHT INFANTRY SHOOTER, HEAVY
INFANTRY, CAVALRY, SIEGE WEAPON, COMMON AND
SPECIAL ABILITY

SPECIAL ABILITIES CARRY A STAR ICON, AND ACT VERY
DIFFERENTLY YOU MUST PLAY THEM ON YOUR PALACE,
WHERE THESE CARDS WILL ACT AS COUNTERS OF
SPECIAL TROOPS. THESE TROOPS MAY ATTACK AND
DEFEND NORMALLY AND MOST HAVE UNIQUE
CAPABILITIES.

YOU MUST OWN ONE TERRITORY COMPLETE WITH 3
BASES FOR EACH SPECIAL TROOP YOU HAVE. YOU
MUST DISCARD THOSE TROOPS YOU CANNOT KEEPR

BELOW ARE DOUBTS THAT HAUNT SOME OF
ATTACK THE TOWER'S GENERALS.

Does this manual contain all the rules?

Sort of. It contains enough rules to know and enjoy the
game - you shouldn't need anything else. It is, though, a
brief summary of the Tournament Manual. There you'll find

the rules in detail, so to avoid ambiguity and omissions.

Where can | get the Tournament Manual?
At www.ocastudios.com/bronze/attack-the-tower.

Are the cards used in Tournaments any different?
No. They're the same. The rules are more detailed but are
also, essentially, the same.

The manual says that | must discard excess cards after
drawing them. May | wait and discard them only by the
end of the Renewal Sequence?

No. You must follow the steps in order.

Can | attack multiple times in a turn?
Yes, as long as you have Troops.

May | do one attack with multiple Territories?
No.

May | attack with Bases?
Nope. Only Troops may attack

May Special Troops attack? Even the Treant?

Yes and yes.

Do Abilities that affect Bases also affect the Palace? For
example, if a card destroys Troops on a Base, may | use it to
destroy Special Troops on the Palace?

No. Palaces are not Bases.

My Troops have attack and failed to destroy the enemy's
Bases. But the Defender has also failed to destroy my
Troops. So what now?

In this rare event, the attacking Troops are sacrified.

My Troops have successfully destroy the enemy Bases,
but I don't want survivors to attack the Palace. Can they
return or attack another Territory?

No. Troops never return from an attack. Marching forward
is not optional in this case.

| caused x ponits of damage to the Palace. In another
attack, does it only takes 70-x points to destroy it?
No. After a combat, all damade inflicted to surviving
Troops, Bases and Palaces are forgotten. All damage
necessary to destroy the Palace must come from one
single attack.

May | play Bases on the opponent's turn? And Abilities?
Bases may only be played in the designated step during
the Renewal Sequence, no matter if it's your turn or your
adversary's. Abilities may be played at any time, no matter
whose turn, except during the Renewing Sequence.

Neither me nor my opponent wish to attack. Has the
game crashed?

It means someone should be paying more attention
attacking is bound to be advantageus for one of you. But if
you insist on it, you may adopt the Tournament rule that

state that, if a player does not Renewal or attack in one
turn, the opponent is obliged to renew or attack.

May | attack with only some of the Troops of my Territory?

No. Once a Territory is assign to attack, all Troops in there
must attack.

May | play an Ability "in response” to an opponents' card?
This question refers to the rule, popular among other card
games, that sttaes that a player may play a card right after
("in response to") an action by his opponent, and have its
effects happen before it. For example, you would be able to
annul an opponent's attack by playing the Fae's Common
Ability, that prevents him from declaring attacks. This rule,
surprisingly for some players, does not exist in Attack the
Tower. Effects in this game take place in the order they are
played, so the example above does not work.

Do Troops leave their Bases when attacking? | mean, may
I play an Ability such as "Destroy all Troops in a Base"
when these Troops are attacking?

When interpreting cards, assume Troops never leave their
Bases. So no, they don't, and yes, you may.
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ATTACK [0\ TOWER

ALLIED MONKS HAVE POWER 2.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE
THEM AFTERWARDS.

ABILITY » LIGHT INFANTRY| E

ABILITY o LIGHT INFANTRY|

ALLIED MONKS HAVE POWER 2.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE
THEM AFTERWARDS.

ABILITY » LIGHT INFANTRY| |

ALLIED MONKS HAVE POWER 2.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE
THEM AFTERWARDS.

ALLIED MONKS HAVE POWER 2.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE
THEM AFTERWARDS.

ABILITY » LIGHT INFANTRY| |55

ABILITY ® LIGHT INFANTRY/|

ALLIED MONKS HAVE POWER 2.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE
THEM AFTERWARDS.

ALLIED MONKS HAVE POWER 2.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE
THEM AFTERWARDS.

ABILITY ® LIGHT INFANTRY|F

TROOPS IN THE SAME TERRITORY
AS ALLIED KYUDOKAS MAY BE
SPARED FROM SACRIFICE, EVEN IF
OTHER ABILITIES DEMAND IT

ABILITY » SHOOTE

TROOPS IN THE SAME TERRITORY
AS ALLIED KYUDOKAS MAY BE
SPARED FROM SACRIFICE, EVEN IF
OTHER ABILITIES DEMAND IT.

ABILITY » SHOOTE]

TROOPS IN THE SAME TERRITORY
AS ALLIED KYUDOKAS MAY BE
SPARED FROM SACRIFICE, EVEN IF
OTHER ABILITIES DEMAND IT

TROOPS IN THE SAME TERRITORY
AS ALLIED KYUDOKAS MAY BE
SPARED FROM SACRIFICE, EVEN IF
OTHER ABILITIES DEMAND IT.

ABILITY « SHOOTER

TROOPS IN THE SAME TERRITORY
AS ALLIED KYUDOKAS MAY BE
SPARED FROM SACRIFICE, EVEN IF
OTHER ABILITIES DEMAND [T

ABILITY*HEAVY INFANTRY
"\

ALLIED SAMURAI HAVE POWER 3.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE THEM
AFTERWARDS.

ABILITY s HEAVY INFANTRY|
Ay

ALLIED SAMURAI HAVE POWER 3.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE THEM
AFTERWARDS.,

ABILITY*HEAVY INFANTRY
A

ALLIED SAMURAI HAVE POWER 3.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE THEM
AFTERWARDS,

ABILITY*HEAVY INFANTRY
N\

ALLIED SAMURAI HAVE POWER 3.
IF THEY BATTLE, SACRIFICE THEM
AFTERWARDS,

% [ABILITY » CAVALRY

AFTER BATTLING AGAINST HUNS,
DEFENDING BASES WITH NO TROOPS
ON THEM MUST BE SACRIFICEDR

ABILITY* CAVALRY

AFTER BATTLING AGAINST HUNS,
DEFENDING BASES WITH NO TROOPS
ON THEM MUST BE SACRIFICED

ABILITY* CAVALRY

AFTER BATTLING AGAINST HUNS,
DEFENDING BASES WITH NO TROOPS
ON THEM MUST BE SACRIFICEDR

ABILITY *SI r

o~

SACRIFICE ONE KAIJU ON EACH
ALLIED ISLAND FOR EACH TERRITORY
WHERE YOU STILL HAVE KAIJUS,
DESTROY ONE BASE.

wearoN| |

SACRIFICE ONE KAIJU ON EACH
ALLIED ISLAND FOR EACH TERRITORY
WHERE YOU STILL HAVE KAIJUS,
DESTROY ONE BASE.

ABILITY*COMMON

CHOOSE AN ALLIED TROOPR IT
BECOMES A NINJA AND (TS
POWER IS RAISED BY 3.

ABILITY*COMMON

CHOOSE AN ALLIED TROOR IT
BECOMES A NINJA AND TS
POWER IS RAISED BY 3.

ABILITY*COMMON

CHOOSE AN ALLIED TROOR IT
BECOMES A NINJA AND TS
POWER IS RAISED BY 3.

ABILITY » SPECIAL

ABILITY » SPECIAL

RECRUIT A SHENLONG ON YOUR
PALACE. IT HAS POWER 4 AND
WHILE IN PLAY IT ALLOWS YOU TO
DRAW ONE EXTRA CARD DURING
THE RENOVATION SEQUENCES.

RECRUIT A SHENLONG ON YOUR
PALACE. IT HAS POWER 4 AND
WHILE IN PLAY, IT ALLOWS YOU TO
DRAW ONE EXTRA CARD DURING
THE RENOVATION SEQUENCES.
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MONASTERY MONASTERY MONASTERY MONASTERY MONASTERY
RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS
MONKS MONKS MONKS MONKS MONKS

A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY

A BASE CAN ONLY

A BASE CAN ONLY

BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF
UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S
POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4.

LIGHT INFANTRY DO
NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,

LIGHT INFANTRY DO
NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,

LIGHT INFANTRY DO
NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS.

LIGHT INFANTRY DO
NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,

LIGHT INFANTRY DO
NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,

O
9«
)

OOFS

MONASTERY MONASTERY DoJo DOJO
RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS
MONKS MONKS KYUDOKAS KYUDOKAS KYUDOKAS

A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY

A BASE CAN ONLY

A BASE CAN ONWY

BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF
UNDEFENDED (T'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S
POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER S 4. POWER S 4. POWER IS 4.

LIGHT INFANTRY DO
NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,

LIGHT INFANTRY DO
NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,

SHOOTERS' 'INITIATIVE'
TRAIT ALLOWS THEM
TO STRIKE FIRST IN

SHOOTERS' 'INITIATIVE!
TRAIT ALLOWS THEM
TO STRIKE FIRST IN
BATTLE.

SHOOTERS' 'INITIATIVE'
TRAIT ALLOWS THEM
TO STRIKE FIRST IN
BATTLE.

DO30 FEUD FEUD
RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS
KYUDOKAS KYUDOKAS KYUDOKAS SAMURAI SAMURAI

A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONWY

A BASE CAN ONLY

A BASE CAN ONLY

BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF
UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED (T'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S
POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER (S 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4.

SHOOTERS' 'INITIATIVE!
TRAIT ALLOWS THEM TRAIT ALLOWS THEM
TO STRIKE FIRST IN TO STRIKE FIRST IN 5
BATTLE. R POWER
OF
00P

SHOOTERS' 'INITIATIVE! SHOOTERS' 'INITIATIVE!
TRAIT ALLOWS THEM

TO STRIKE FIRST IN

HEAVY INFANTRY
DO NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,

HEAVY INFANTRY
DO NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,

FEUD STEPPES STEPPES
RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUITS RECRUIT RECRUIT
SAMURAI SAMURAI SAMURAI HUNS HUNS

A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY

A BASE CAN ONLY

A BASE CAN ONLY

BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF
UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S
POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4.
HEAVY INFANTRY HEAVY INFANTRY HEAVY INFANTRY CAVALRY DO CAVALRY DO

DO NOT POSSESS DO NOT POSSESS DO NOT POSSESS NOT POSSESS NOT POSSESS

SPECIAL TRAITS, SPECIAL TRAITS. SPECIAL TRAITS, SPECIAL TRAITS, SPECIAL TRAITS,

STEPPES STEPPES ISLANDS ISLANDS ISLANDS
RECRUIT RECRUIT RECRUIT RECRUIT RECRUIT
HUNS HUNS KAIJUS KAIJUS KAIJUsS

A BASE CAN ONWY A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY A BASE CAN ONLY

BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF BE DAMAGED IF
UNDEFENDED (T'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S UNDEFENDED IT'S
POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4. POWER IS 4.

SIEGE WEAPONS'
ARTILLARY" TRAIT,
PREVENTS THEM FROM
DAMAGING TROOPS.

SIEGE WEAPONS'
ARTILLARY' TRAIT,
PREVENTS THEM FROM
DAMAGING TROOPS.

SIEGE WEAPONS'
ARTILLARY' TRAIT,
PREVENTS THEM FROM
DAMAGING TROOPS.

CAVALRY DO
NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,

CAVALRY DO
NOT POSSESS
SPECIAL TRAITS,
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